Starting a Meetup

After attending the Orlando iOS Developer Group’s Meetup last week, I’m considering starting something similar for the Space Coast. I have no idea how many other Apple developers there are in this area, but I’d like to find out and see if we can get a community going.

I’m thinking of naming the group Space Coast iDevelopers

For interests (limit 15), I have

  • Mac
  • iPhone
  • Apple
  • Objective-C
  • iPad
  • iOS
  • iMac
  • MacBook
  • Xcode
  • Swift Language
  • tvOS
  • watchOS
  • Server Side Swift
  • macOS

For a description, I was going to use:

Interested in building apps for the iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple TV, or Apple Watch? Interested in Swift, Objective-C, and Xcode? From newbies to experts, all skill levels are welcome.

The one thing I need to figure out to really take a crack at this is where to hold the meetings. I also need to line up sponsorships, but I’m fine buying pizza and soda for the first few meetings until it takes off.


The Suntree-Viera Public Library has a 10-15 person conference room I could probably use to get the group started, but I just realized I should also have a 1080p projector. That’ll run about $50-100, but I can list it as a business expense, so it might be worth it. I could get a 32″ HD TV instead for a little more and schlep that around instead: might actually be a better option.

Leave a comment